The Farmer's Exchange Online Home
Friday, February 23, 2024
Michiana's Popular Farm Paper Since 1926
Click here to start your trial subscription!

Carlson, Pepple Honored in Goshen

Published: Friday, November 24, 2023

The Elkhart County Extension board annual meeting was held on Nov. 14 on the 4-H Fairgrounds in Goshen. Each year, the staff recognizes individuals or businesses that go above and beyond to enhance Purdue Extension's mission and vision. The 2023 Friend of Extension award was given to two very deserving volunteers, Dan Carlson and Debra Pepple.

Carlson is a gold-level Master Gardener volunteering at the Extension office during the summer for the Master Gardener Answer Line. He has given of his time volunteering as president, vice president, treasurer and board member of the Michiana Master Gardeners Assn.; trained new volunteers for the Answer Line; helped set up Ag Hall for the Elkhart County 4-H fair; being a program speaker; and serving on multiple committees. He is a true asset to Purdue Extension.

Pepple calls herself a "professional volunteer" and it's well fitting as she has been a long-time Extension Homemaker, volunteering as director of home and family arts during the Elkhart County 4-H Fair, served as president of the Elkhart County Extension Homemakers Association, as well as many offices within her club. Currently, she serves on the health and human sciences advisory board. Her involvement in the community allows her to share the value that Extension holds when it comes to education in all program areas.

There were 67 people in attendance to celebrate the accomplishments of Purdue Extension Elkhart County. The annual meeting honors the "Friend of Extension," recognizes retiring board members, elects new board members by the Extension Advisory Council, and highlights program impact and accomplishments from the Purdue Extension Educators.

The Elkhart County Extension Council members are appointed leaders who elect five board members to the 15-member board. Re-elected for a second term were board members Joel Holsopple, Millersburg and Kathy Overholt, Elkhart. Elected to their first term on the Extension Board are Carlson, Goshen; Pepple, Elkhart; and Mary Kay Longacre, Goshen.

Retiring from the Extension Board after six years of service are Dan Hummel, Elkhart; Jeff Kitson, Milford; and Regina Morehouse, New Paris.

Return to Top of Page